NMLS Testing

General Information

In July, 2008 The Housing and Economic Recovery Act (Public Law 110-289) was enacted. Title V of the Law, “Secure and Fair Enforcement for Mortgage Licensing Act of 2008” or S.A.F.E. Mortgage and Licensing Act of 2008, established requirements for the licensing of Mortgage Loan Originators (MLOs). The S.A.F.E. Act requires MLOs to pass a qualified written test, to complete pre-licensure education courses, and to take annual continuing education courses. It requires the Nationwide Mortgage Licensing System and Registry or NMLS to approve pre-licensure and continuing education courses. The Act permits NMLS to charge reasonable fees in carrying out its requirements.

Test Retake Policy

NMLS Test Enrollment Guide

National Test With UST Outline

For additional information regarding test fees, scheduling, and availability, please see the Testing page of the NMLS Resource Center found here

Pre-Licensure Education

All new applicants in the state of Louisiana hoping to become a sponsored mortgage loan originator must complete 20 hour of education with a NMLS approved provider.

Visit the NMLS state specific education chart for additional state education requirements.

Continuing Education

All licensees must complete 8 Hours of NMLS approved education each year to renew their license in the state of Louisiana.

Education questions? Mortgage Educators and Compliance can help. Call 877-403-1428 or email- education@MortgageEducators.com

SAFE MLO Test

All new applicants for the state of Louisiana must pass the NMLS national exam with UST component. The national exam with UST needs to be passed with a 75% or better.

Criminal Background Check

All licensees must submit fingerprints through NMLS for a criminal background check.

Credit Report

All licensees must authorize a credit report through NMLS.

SAFE Test Enrollment

In order to schedule tests with a Test Delivery Vendor, mortgage loan originators first must request and pay for a test enrollment window in NMLS by using the Test Enrollments and Test Enrollment Cart functions.

Company Test Enrollment Quickguide

Indvidual Enrollment Quickguide

Testing Fees

NMLS has set the following fees for Test Administration and required to be paid directly to the NMLS before enrollment.

National Component with UST – $110
125 questions; appointment time: 3 hours

Louisiana Unique State Component has been replaced with the UST. 

Testing Centers in Louisiana
Remember:  to schedule the exam you must pay the fee on the NMLS BEFORE you can get confirm a test date with Prometric.

Alexandria: 
Prometric Testing Center
1505 Metro Drive
Suite H
Alexandria, LA 71301
318-427-7540
Center hours: Individual center hours vary. For specific information regarding center hours, please contact the local center or the National Call Center at 877-671-6657.
Click here to make an appointment online

Baton Rouge:
Prometric Testing Center
4354 S. Sherwood Forest Boulevard
Suite D-220
Baton Rouge, LA 70816
225-293-8489
Center Hours: Individual center hours vary. For specific information regarding center hours, please contact the local center or the National Call Center at 877-671-6657.
Click here to make an appointment online

Bossier City:
Prometric Testing Center
4350 Viking Drive
Suite 3
Bossier City, LA 71111
318-742-7349
Center hours: Individual center hours vary. For specific information regarding center hours, please contact the local center or the National Call Center at 877-671-6657.
Click here to make an appointment online

Metairie:
Prometric Testing Center
2424 Edenborn Avenue, Suite 190
Metairie, LA 70001
504-834-2155
THIS CENTER RE-OPENED FOR TESTING ON 10/10/05. Individual center hours vary. For specific information regarding center hours, please contact the local center.
Click here to make an appointment online

Additional questions regarding testing, enrollment and education please contact Mortgage Educators and Compliance . 877-403-1428 or nmls@MortgageEducators.com